AIB Scam Emails
I’ve been getting several unusual emails from AIB in the past few weeks.
Unlike many of these email scams the AIB emails are well written, and seem genuine as they come from an aib.ie email account.
The first two were about “unauthorized” access to my online banking account. The giveaway was the American spelling in an email from an Irish bank!
The scammers haven’t learned yet. Another mail arrived today with the “authorized” spelling mistake and a dodgy attachment. Apparently blue7.cork@yahoo.ie has been added to my account as a contact.
I’ve checked out the attached html file in an editor. Don’t open it! It’s 5000 lines of crap with some javascript. There’s also a form which posts anything sent by it with a script at www.advancecolleges.org.
I’m not sure what the relationship between AIB and advancecolleges.org is but I doubt that AIB uses an Indian Pharmacy college to process it’s contact forms.
I sent one of the previous emails to AIB but got no reply. I’ll send this one too. It seems AIB aren’t alerting their customers about this.
The best advice I can give is if you get one of these emails then don’t click on any link or open any attachment in it. If the email says there’s been some change to your online account – Go to your AIB account as you would normally(i.e. not from a link within the email) and check it out.
Keep watching the skies.
edit — 6 October 2009
I’ve just checked my AIB account and after following the Security Centre link(nicely and subtly tucked away in the top right corner of the page) I found the extensive AIB information about this scam.
Looks like they’re on the ball, but I wonder why they haven’t made the information more visible?